El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. Know pretty much next to nothing about how to modify a car, but joined this forum to learn.

I am not interested in racing or speed. Too old for that. Also not all that interested in HP increase or performance. What I do love is that low burble at idle and cruising and a bit of a bark when you step on it. Just got an 86 El Camino with a 305, single exhaust modified with a glass pack out in front of the passenger side rear wheel. Absolutely love the sound of it, though it drones pretty bad at highway speeds.

Would love to have the same on the driver side as well. Spoke to mechanic where I am having all my work done, and said about 1.5k for new hardware, glass packs, and accompanying mods to do a matching dual exhaust. Live in Nevada, so I can register as a classic car with all the exemptions.

What would be the ideal set up for this? I just love that burble and bark, and Im not looking to set off any alarms. What would be the ideal set up if I decide to upgrade? Do I match the exhaust to in front of the rear wheel? Do I put on some cherry bombs and put it out the back? What would be the best sounding set up for an easy cruiser?

Thank you, and apologies for not knowing what Im talking about.

·
Premium Member
8,132 Posts
My son had duel exhaust put on the 78. There's a 350 in it with a Comp Magnum cam. It doesn't have glass packs. They are metal mufflers, and the exhaust pipes go past the rear axle and stop. There's no headers on it but it sounds great to me.

·
Premium Member
25 Posts