El Camino Central Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m trying to find out if my intake gasket is leaking or not. I was low on carb cleaner, so I only half-a$$ed that test until the store opens. Vacuum gauge is reading a steady 10-11” at idle. If you blip the throttle around you can get it to peak at around 15”. I’m not too technical, so I’m wondering if anyone can tell what vacuum should be at idle with the cam spec in picture.
Comp Cams 08-422-8
Font Parallel Number Circle Pattern
Font Slope Parallel Screenshot Jewellery

·
National Director
1965 El Camino
908 Posts
I have seen WD 40 used in place of carb cleaner to test for a leak. If you do a quick internet search a ton of information comes up.
"using a vacuum gauge"

·
Registered
87 Caballero Amarillo, stock 305/200R4/QJ
707 Posts
Vacuum should be closer to 15-18 for these cars in a stock configuration, but that ran many things, like heater controls, smog crap, cruise control, tranny kick down etc. That said, it really depends on what you want to end up with and what else you have. It's not uncommon to dissociate the vac system from the carb entirely and run the vac system from an electric vac pump.

·
Premium Member
2,020 Posts
Vacuum actually falls as the throttle is opened up because the throttle plate opens up to let air in - vacuum level falls. Steady numbers are good but where you attach the gauge is very important. Some carburetor vacuum ports are only partial vacuum, not full.

Where did you attach the gauge?

Rick

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Vacuum actually falls as the throttle is opened up because the throttle plate opens up to let air in - vacuum level falls. Steady numbers are good but where you attach the gauge is very important. Some carburetor vacuum ports are only partial vacuum, not full.

Where did you attach the gauge?

Rick